ROT13 Encrypt & Decrypt

google plus share facebook share




ROT13 :


ROT13 cipher (stands for "ROTation 13") is a simple monoalphabetical cipher. It is a particular case of the well known Caesar cipher in which every single letter of the plain text, is replaced by the letter situated 13 positions after in the latin alphabet. As the Caesar Cipher, and as every monoalphabetical cipher, it doesn't offer any security as it is easy to break it.
The ROT13 cipher is, such as XOR encryption, a commutative or symetric cipher. It means that you just have to re-apply the algorithm on the cipher text to find back the plain text. The Latin alphabet being composed with 26 letters, a shift of 13 letters represents exactly half of it. So with two successive shifts you'll find your text back.
The ROT13 is used sometimes on forums and Usenet, as a way to obfuscate things. For instance to hide a spoiler, or to prevent people from reading what you're writing with too much ease. However, understand that in no way, the ROT13 cipher would be enough to protect sensitive data.

With the particularity of being its exact opposite, the ROT13 cipher is sometimes used in letter games. Some words, when translated with ROT13, prints another word instead of just random letters. For instance the word 'abjurer' will give 'nowhere'.

There's many variants to the ROT13 cipher, this one is actually only working on letters. For the numbers you can use the ROT5 (10 numbers, so we take the middle which is 5), if used in conjonction, both ciphers will produce what is called the ROT13.5 which works on letters and numbers. Another more complex variant is the ROT47. This one, instead of using the Latin alphabet, is using the ASCII table as a look-up table for the encryption process. More precisly, the 7-bits ASCII table is used, from decimal 33 (!) to decimal 126 (~), excluding of course the space caracter. That is 94 caracters, 47 when divided by two. The ROT47 acts exactly like the ROT13, but it provides a more efficient obfuscation of text, because you'll find special caracters among numbers and letters, which will reduce the lisibility of ciphered text. For instance the sentence " This sentence was encrypted using ROT47 ! " will translate into " E9:D D6?E6?46 H2D 6?4CJAE65 FD:?8 #~%cf P ". Which is obviously a lot more difficult to read.


Mentions légales | Donate | 8,395,729 cracked hashes since 11/2015

ROT13 Encrypt & Decrypt

google plus share facebook share




Rot13 :


Le chiffrement ROT13 (pour "ROTation 13") est un chiffrement de substitution de type monoalphabétique. C'est un cas particulier du chiffrement de César dans lequel chaque lettre du message en clair est remplacé par la lettre située 13 places plus loin dans l'alphabet. Tout comme le chiffrement de César, et tous les chiffrement monoalphabétiques, il n'offre strictement aucune sécurité tant il est facile de le casser.
Il est à noter que le chiffrement ROT13 est, tout comme le chiffrement XOR, un chiffrement commutatif, ou symétrique. Cela signifie qu'il suffit de réappliquer l'algorithme au texte chiffré pour retrouver le texte en clair. En effet, l'alphabet Latin étant composé de 26 lettres, un décalage de 13 lettres représente exactement sa moitié. Deux décalages successifs font alors réapparaître le texte en clair.
Le ROT13 est utilisé sur certains forums, et sur Usenet, pour obfusquer certaines phrases ou parties de phrases. Pour par exemple masquer un spoiler, ou discuter sans être facilement lu par tout le monde. Toutefois il faut bien comprendre qu'en aucun cas le ROT13 ne saurait être une protection suffisante pour chiffrer un message.
Le ROT13 est utilisé, de part sa particularité, pour des jeux de mots. Notamment il existe des mots qui une fois traduits en donnent d'autres. Par exemple 'abjurer' donne 'nowhere'.

Plusieurs variantes sont à dénombrer, le ROT13 ne chiffrant que les lettres, il existe le ROT5 qui lui permet de chiffrer les nombres (10 nombres, donc un décalage de 5). Utilisés en conjonction, on peut ainsi chiffrer les chiffres et les lettres. Cette variante particulière est connue sous le nom de ROT13.5. Une autre variante plus complexe est le ROT47. Elle utilise comme table, non pas l'alphabet latin, mais la table de correspondance ASCII. Plus précisément le ROT47 utilise la table 7-bits ASCII, en partant de la décimale 33 (!) jusqu'à la décimale 126 (~), en excluant l'espace. Soit 94 caractères au total. Une fois divisé en deux, on retrouve notre ROT47. Il permet d'obfusquer de manière plus efficace les phrases, puisque de nombreux caractères non alphabétiques viennent pimenter un peu le chiffrement. Par exemple la phrase " Ceci est une phrase encryptee avec ROT47 ! " se traduit par " 464: 6DE F?6 A9C2D6 6?4CJAE66 2G64 C@Ecf P ". Il est du coup plus difficile de discerner quoique ce soit qu'avec le simple ROT13.


Mentions légales | Donate | 8,062,845 cracked hashes since 11/2015